Hampton wins Pac-12 javelin title

EUGENE, Oregon – Freshman in red shirt Ty Hampton won the Pac-12 men’s javelin title Friday night at the Pac-12 Championships, leading a 22-point collection for the Oregon men in the event. Oregon also recorded a second performance of Alessia Zarbo in the women’s 10,000 meters and a pair of bronze medals by Aaron Bienenfeld (10K men) and Kohana Nakato (women’s javelin).

Thanks to three scored events, the OU men are in first place with 28 points, ahead of Stanford (27 points) and Washington (20). On the women’s side, the Ducks are in fifth place with 14 points at the end of the first day; Washington (32) leads through four scored events.

In Friday’s preliminary rounds, the Oregon men advanced seven athletes to Sunday’s finals, including four in the 1,500 metres. The Oregon women won five qualifiers on day one, including three in the 200 meters.

Access to the Sunday finals

200m: Micah Williams (20.73), Ryan Mulholland (20.95)
1500m: Reed Brown (3:43.38), Jack Yearian (3:43.68), James Gormley (3:43.79), Elliott Cook (3:43.99)
400m hurdles: Will Mundy (51.99)
200m: Iman Brown (11:40 p.m.), Kemba Nelson (23.68), Jasmine Montgomery (23.67)
1500m: Izzy Thornton Bott (4:20.83)
400m hurdles: Alexandra Webster (58.89)

In the decathlon, double title holder Max Vollmer leads the way with her UO teammates Jett Kinder and Nathan Poff in second and third, respectively, through five events. Vollmer set outdoor records in the 100 meters (10.72) and high jump (1.96m/6-5) en route to 4,078 points after day one.

Native Eugene Taylor Chocek put on a solid first day in the heptathlon and ranks third overall on Saturday with 3,290 points. She capped off the day with a lifetime best of 25.09 in the 200 metres.

The combined events resume on Saturday at 11 a.m. with the 110-meter hurdles decathlon and 1 p.m. in the heptathlon with the long jump.

With his victory, Hampton becomes the 17and man in program history to win a conference javelin title, and the first since Cody Danielson in 2016. The North Bend, Oregon native posted the fastest time of 73.86m/242-4 in his second attempt of the day, nearly 20 feet from runner-up Roan Allen of Washington. Hampton’s six marks were good enough to win.

The Ducks 1-3-5-7 was also featured Eric Lyons, Dalton Rasmussen and Asher Krauel, respectively. Lyon (66.29m/217-6) and Rasmussen (65.15m/213-9) gained a place in the final standings on the last three throws of the event. Kraul’s best throw of the day at 62.36m/204-7 came in the second round.

Zarbo, in her college debut in the 10,000 meters, clocked 32:28.57 to collect eight points for the Oregon women. She led at the bell and only gave up the lead for the last 100 meters. The top four in Friday’s final all finished below the previous meet record of 32:38.73 set last season by Carmela Cardama Baez in Los Angeles.

With Friday’s outing, Zarbo becomes No. 3 on the OU’s all-time list behind Cardama Baez (32:16.13) and school record holder Jordan Hasay (32:06.64).

Oregon’s first points of the weekend came from Nakato who finished just short of his season best metric with a 48.45m/158-11 throw in the third round. She went from fifth to third going into the finals and held steady to score six points for the OU Women in her Pac-12 debut.

In the final event on Friday, the UO men took six points from Bienenfeld in his first 10,000 meters of the season. He crossed the finish line in 28:14.67, not the best of his life (28:10.95), but strong enough to become the fifth fastest player in UO history. Bienenfeld is the first OU man to make the program’s top 10 since Edward Cheserek in 2014.

In addition to his third-place finish, Bienenfeld added a regional top-10 mark for the NCAA West preliminary qualifier. Bienenfeld and Zarbo are scheduled for the long distance double with the 5,000 meters on Sunday afternoon.

Saturday’s finals in the field events begin at 1:45 p.m. with the men’s hammerhead while the track preliminaries continue at 4 p.m. with the women’s 100-meter hurdles. Day two of the Pac-12 Championships will see the champions crowned in the men’s and women’s steeplechase, men’s and women’s long jump, men’s and women’s shot put, men’s hammer and combined events.

Friday results

200 meters – preliminary
3. Micah Williams – 20.73Q
7. Ryan Mulholland – 20.95Q
14. Xavier Naire – 9:51 p.m.

1500 meters – preliminary
2. Reed brown – 3:43.38Q
4. Jack Yearian – 3:43.68Q
6. James Gormley – 3:43.79Q
8. Elliott Cook – 3:43.99Q
13. Evan Holland – 3:44.91

10,000 meters – final
3. Aaron Bienenfeld – 28:14.67 [6 points] [No. 5 UO]

400m hurdles – preliminary
3. Will Mundy – 51.99Q

1. Ty Hampton – 73.86m/242-4 [10 points]

3. Eric Lyons – 66.29m/217-6 [6 points]

5. Dalton Rasmussen – 65.15m/213-9 [4 points]

7. Asher Krauel – 62.36m/204-7 [2 points]

Decathlon – Day 1
1. Max Vollmer – 4,078 points
1. 100 meters – 10.72 (RP) [924 points]

2. Long Jump – 6.88m/22-7 [785]

1. Shot Put – 13.95m/45-9.25 [725]

2. High jump – 1.96m/6-5 (PR) [767]

1. 400 meters – 48.67 [877]

2. Jett Kinder – 3,739 points
5. 100 meters – 11:30 a.m. (RP) [795 points]

1. Long Jump – 7.10m/23-3.5 [838]

2. Shot Put – 13.51m/44-4 [698]

3. High Jump – 1.93m/6-4 [740]

6. 400 meters – 53.32 [668]

3. Nathan Poff – 3,645 points
5. 100 meters – 11.17 [823 points]

3. Long Jump – 6.77m/22-25 [760]

5. Shot put – 12.47m/40-11 [635]

4. High Jump – 1.81m/5-11.25 [636]

3. 400 meters – 50.51 [791]


200 meters – preliminaries
2. Iman Brown – 23.40Q
4. Kemba Nelson – 23.68Q
6. Jasmine Montgomery – 23.67Q
15. Jasmine Reed – 24:25

1500 meters – preliminary
8. Izzy Thornton Bott – 4:20.83Q
15. Emilie Girard – 4:25.37

10,000 meters – final
2. Alessia Zarbo – 32:28.57 [No. 3 UO] [8 points]

16. Caramia Mixer – 34:36.55

400m hurdles – preliminary
2. Alexandra Webster – 58.89Q

3. Kohana Nakato – 48.45m/158-11 [6 points]

Heptathlon – Day 1
3. Taylor Chocek – 3,290 points
5. 100m hurdles – 14.04 [973 points]

3. High jump – 1.67m/5-5.75 (=PR) [818]

5. Shot put – 11.38m/37-4 [620]

5. 200 meters – 25.09 (PR) [879]

For more Oregon cross country and track and field news and information, follow @OregonTF on Facebook, Instagram and Twitter.

Comments are closed.