NC A&T’s Ross Jr. wins NCAA Men’s Indoor 400 Meters

North Carolina A&T’s Randolph Ross Jr. clocked a personal best and Birmingham CrossPlex facility record 44.62 seconds to win the 400 meters at the NCAA Indoor Track and Field Championships on Saturday.

Ross, a member of the 4X400 relay team that won gold at the 2020 Tokyo Olympics, just a tenth of a second off the college record.

Micaela DeGenero pulled away late to win the women’s mile by nearly two seconds, finishing in a personal best and install best time of 4 minutes, 33.92 seconds to claim Colorado’s second consecutive title after Sage Hurta had won the race last year.

Oregon freshman Emmanuel Ihemeje set a personal best at 55 feet 2 3/4 inches to win the triple jump.

Vernon Turner cleared 7-7 1/4 to win the men’s high jump title for Oklahoma.

Texas A&M’s Lamara Distin tied a personal best 6-3 1/2 to win the women’s high jump.

Coastal Carolina’s Melissa Jefferson, whose previous personal best was 7.22, ran a 7.09 to win the women’s 60.

Arizona State’s Turner Washington won his second straight NCAA indoor title in the men’s shot put. The junior threw a season-high 71-1/4. Washington Sun Devils teammate Jorinde van Klinken won the women’s shot put with a personal best 62-7 1/4.

Mario García Romo won the men’s mile with a time of 4 minutes, 7.54 seconds. The top 6 all finished within 0.24 seconds of each other.

Grace Stark, a sophomore in Florida, tied the college record to win the women’s 60-meter hurdles in 7.78 seconds.

Abby Steiner ran a 22.16, breaking the meet record, to win the women’s 200m. Second was second in the 60 (7.10) and helped Kentucky finish third (3:28.77) in the 4X400 relay.

Southern California’s Davonte Burnett clocked a personal best 6.50 to win the men’s 60, edging Indiana’s Rikkoi Brathwaite at 6.52, a Big Ten record.

Talitha Diggs of Florida set a personal best 50.98 to win the women’s 800. The rookie is the daughter of Joetta Clark who was a three-time Tennessee indoor champion in the 1980s.

Brandon Miller won Texas A&M’s first men’s 800m title in 1:47.19. Miller was also the third leg of the Aggies 4X400 relay team which finished first in the season and facility record clocking 3:04.16 to beat state rival Texas, which finished second. in 3:04.55.

Junior Lindsey Butler won the women’s 800 for Virginia Tech, clocking a facility record 2:01.37.

Florida State’s Trey Cunningham became just the second middle schooler to clear the 7.40 mark in the 60-yard hurdles, breaking away from the pack to win at 7.38.

Oklahoma State sophomore Taylor Roe won the women’s 5,000 in 8:58.95.

North Carolina A&T sophomore Davonte Harding won the men’s 200m in 20.46

Arkansas’ Ayden Owens became the second man (Kevin Lazas, 2013) in Razorbacks history to win the heptathlon. Owens, a sophomore, set personal bests in three events on day two, winning the 1,000 meters – the final event – ​​to move from fourth to first with 6.211 points.

The Arkansas women won the 4X400 relay in 3:27.23.

Comments are closed.